16
Sep
09

No, I am not weaving a basket, I’m making architecture

So some of you if not all have been commenting on my recent surfaces using weaving, but hey guess what it is not as silly as it may seem.  Kent Suhrbier recommended I look at Shigeru Ban and his works.  So I’m passing it on to all you blogger folk because his work is very creative and uses unusual materials.  So check it out.

2 Responses to “No, I am not weaving a basket, I’m making architecture”


  1. 1 Becky
    2009/09/17 at 1:40 pm

    I wasn’t saying it wasn’t architecture, I just like the silly rhyme (a tisket a tasket, dagnabbit!), and I thought it was an interesting system to develop larger architectural forms/spaces with.

  2. 2 Kai Gutschow
    2009/09/23 at 8:23 pm

    Weaving has long been considered central to architecture. The 19th-century architect Gottfried Semper, whom I mentioned the other day in relation to tectonics, theorized long ago that weaving is at the origin of architecture and space making. See his essay “4 Elements of Architecture” that I referenced, and can be read at: https://www.library.cmu.edu/reserves/hlergutschow156.pdf.


Leave a Reply

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Our Flickr Photos

Our YouTube Videos

can be found here

