02
Jul
09

Denver Art Museum

Ugh, I spent a few hours trying to format this stupid post because the pictures weren’t showing up. So if it’s all wonky, I apologize, and I promise I won’t try to format anything ever again.

Anyway.

Hey everyone, it’s Christine, I hope your summers are going well. This is my first time posting on the new and improved blog, so yay for me.

So I have discovered that Colorado has very few points of architectural interest. Surprise! That great buildings website that Liza was so kind as to show us has a grand total of 6 entries for Colorado and Utah combined and two of those were built by Native Americans in the 13th century, so that doesn’t mesh very well with our modernist curriculum.

Anyway, I was very sad about that because I was hoping there was some hidden gem that I could show you guys that would make everyone wanna visit me, but nope.

Regardless, Denver does have some nice buildings, and since I was heading down there with some friends to see the art museum anyway, I figured I’d take some pictures.

The Denver Art Museum - under construction

The Denver Art Museum - under construction

So this is the Denver Art Museum. Remember when Ting Chang brought it up in her lecture long ago and far away? Pretty much the best day of my life. There were some construction guys up there on the roof, and due to the angle of the roof, all the workers had to be all harnessed up. Scary stuff.

A bit farther away

A bit farther away

Here’s a view from further up  on 13th street. You can’t really see it too well in this picture, I’m kinda far away, but you can see a bit more of it than in the last one. Those are my friends Jon and Andrea in the foreground if you were wondering. Also, a light post and a tree.

Close up!

Close up!

Oh yeah, look at the majesty! It’s practically defying gravity!

There’s actually a pretty nifty exhibit called The Psychedelic Experience at the DMA right now featuring a large collection of concert posters from the psychedelic movement in San Francisco. Very interesting. No photos were allowed, so I can’t show you anything, but it was pretty cool.

Here are some more assorted pictures of some Denver buildings.

4 Responses to “Denver Art Museum”


  1. 1 Kai Gutschow
    2009/07/02 at 7:55 pm

    Christine,
    Great that you posted; thanks for being one of the first aside from the regulars. Sorry to hear about your posting problems; don’t let it deter you from future posts. Next time just write the text, and insert photos using the little icon.
    Libeskind’s Denver Art Museum strikes me as one of those buildings you have to see, stroll around, and walk through and up in to, to understand. Hopefully you were able to take some time to study it a bit more in depth, with sketchbook in hand. If not, go back, it’s worth the time (and price of admission). For those of you who don’t know the building, here are some pics and sketches by Libeskind: http://www.archinnovations.com/featured-projects/museums/daniel-libeskind-denver-art-museum/. I thought it was done already, but I guess you say it’s still under construction?!
    Two of the Colorado buildings listed on “Great Buildings” are definitely worth a visit by architects: the Air Force Academy chapel and campus in Colorado Springs by SOM, and I.M. Pei’s National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder. Take your sketchbook, and draw plans, sections… thing about them spatially and structurally. Good stuff!
    For more, perhaps look up “Guide to Denver Architecture With Regional Highlights” by Denver Foundation for Architecture, for a good guidebook.
    There’s also the Colorado AIA, which shows results of it’s awards program on their website.
    Thanks for posting: keep exploring architecture!
    Kai

  2. 2 Christine
    2009/07/02 at 9:40 pm

    Oh no, it’s not still under construction, it’s under construction AGAIN. I don’t know why. We had to go through a maze of tarp just to get into the building, so I’m gonna try to get back there at some point once all the renovations are done to explore.

    There’s also a good chance that I’ll make it to Boulder before summer is over so I’ll be sure to check out that I.M. Pei building.

  3. 3 Liza
    2009/07/02 at 11:14 pm

    CHRISTINE!

    For anyone who is unfortunate not to know, Christine is the best speaker ever in terms of her engaging, informal, and hysterical manner, and it apparently shows through her writing. Christine’s first semester final project was the only one that Don Johnson joked about, with respect to circulation (a usual mundane culprit in that particular project).

    Anyway, I loved the angular block that is flying out of the building as seen in “close up”. The materials look like they could be super reflective, are they?

  4. 4 Issac
    2009/07/05 at 11:52 am

    Oh Liza, we know. we know. hahah sitting across from her all last semester brought much joy. Btw, Christine, you should post up pictures of Arthur and perhaps discuss the architectural values (or the lack thereof) of his form.

    On a more relevant note, Ive been trying to make my way around Seoul (Korea, ya know?) and gather a collection of architecturally savvy pictures (with captions) but I’m having a real hard time picking them out! haha and there are just too many to discuss. Hopefully, I’ll get around to doing that soon. (: in the meanwhile, hope to see more of…Colorado..and the rest of the world (:

    -IK


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Our Flickr Photos

Philly23

Philly22

More Photos

Our YouTube Videos

can be found here

