21
Jun
09

William McDonough on Cradle to Cradle Design

Check out the lecture by William McDonough on Cradle to Cradle Design. The lecture was filmed in 2005.
McDonough grew up in China, went to Yale Architecture (Grad) and had Richard Meier as a professor during the first energy crisis. He was designing a solar heated house in Ireland which he eventually built. “Richard Meier my professor kept coming over to my desk and saying ‘Bill, you’ve got to understand. Solar energy has nothing to do with architecture.’…”
“So perhaps we can develop a strategy of change which requires humility and in my business as an architect its unfortunate that the word ‘humility’ and the word ‘architect’ have not appeared in the same paragraph since The Fountainhead “.

Green-minded architect and designer William McDonough asks what our buildings and products would look like if designers took into account “all children, all species, for all time.”

The lecture spoke to me, and reminded me why I am going to architecture school. To pursue developing the affordable and self-reliant architecture both for housing and hospitals in urban settings and third world countries. Needless to say, I wasn’t exactly inspired by the lectures we had first semester on the Medici fortunes. My ambitions may be considered “idealistic” or whatever newest catch phrase is used for my intended line of work. However, I think the best place to start is by following the advice of Aaron Betsky. He said that the best architecture is no architecture.

As a complete non sequitur, I am currently converting my friend’s slides to TIFFS. Can’t help but think of the Analog vs. Digital (or Analog Digital Spectrum) discussion that will forever be burned in our minds (in a good way).

2 Responses to “William McDonough on Cradle to Cradle Design”


  1. 1 cmuarch2013student
    2009/06/21 at 9:47 pm

    hey liza I tried clicking on your link and it said that it wasn’t found. I’m probably screwing something up but if you could take a look at it I would like to see the lecture.

  2. 2009/06/21 at 9:58 pm

    Link should work now.


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Our Flickr Photos

Philly23

Philly22

More Photos

Our YouTube Videos

can be found here

